Minutes

of a meeting of the



Council

held on Wednesday 19 February 2020 at 7.00 pm at The Ridgeway, The Beacon, Portway, Wantage, OX12 9BY

Open to the public, including the press

Present:

Members: Councillors Margaret Crick (Chair), Jerry Avery, Matthew Barber, Paul Barrow, Ron Batstone, Eric Batts, Nathan Boyd, Cheryl Briggs, Andrew Crawford, Amos Duveen, Andy Foulsham, Hayleigh Gascoigne, Jenny Hannaby, Alison Jenner, Bob Johnston, Diana Lugova, Robert Maddison, Sarah Medley, Helen Pighills, Mike Pighills, Judy Roberts, Val Shaw, Emily Smith, Bethia Thomas, Max Thompson and Elaine Ware

Officers: Steven Corrigan and William Jacobs

Number of members of the public: 0

Co.71 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors Bowring, Cooke, de la Harpe, Fawcett, Grant, Hallett, Howell, Shelley, Catherine Webber and Richard Webber

Co.72 Declarations of disclosable pecuniary interest

None.

Co.73 Urgent business and chair's announcements

The chair provided general housekeeping information and advised there were no items of urgent business.

Co.74 Public participation

No members of the public had registered to address Council.

Co.75 Petitions

No petitions were submitted from members of the public.

Vale of White Horse District Council - Council minutes

Wednesday, 19 February 2020 Co.1

Co.76 Council tax 2020/21

Council considered the report of the interim head of finance on the setting of the Council Tax for the 2020/21 financial year.

In accordance with regulations requiring councils to record the names of those councillors voting in favour, against or abstaining from any vote on the council tax the chair called for a recorded vote which was carried with the voting being as follows:

For	Against	Abstentions
Councillors	Councillors	Councillors
Jerry Avery	Godinomoro	
Matthew Barber		
Paul Barrow		
Ron Batstone		
Eric Batts		
Nathan Boyd		
Cheryl Briggs		
Andrew Crawford		
Margaret Crick		
Amos Duveen		
Andy Foulsham		
Hayleigh Gascoigne		
Jenny Hannaby		
Alison Jenner		
Bob Johnston		
Diana Lugova		
Robert Maddison		
Sarah Medley		
Helen Pighills		
Mike Pighills		
Judy Roberts		
Val Shaw		
Emily Smith		
Bethia Thomas		
Max Thompson		
Elaine Ware		
Total: 26	Total: 0	Total: 0

RESOLVED:

- 1. To note that at its meeting on 18 December 2019 the council calculated the council tax base 2020/21:
 - (a) for the whole council area as 52,686.4 [Item T in the formula in Section 31B of the Local Government Finance Act 1992, as amended (the "Act")]; and
 - (b) for dwellings in those parts of its area to which a parish precept relates as in column 1 of appendix 1.

- 2. That the council tax requirement for the council's own purposes for 2020/21 (excluding parish precepts) is £7,201,704
- 3. That the following amounts be calculated for the year 2020/21 in accordance with Sections 31 to 36 of the Act:
 - (a) £72,423,971 being the aggregate of the amounts which the council estimates for the items set out in Section 31A(2) of the Act taking into account all precepts issued to it by parish councils.
 - (b) £60,980,550 being the aggregate of the amounts which the council estimates for the items set out in Section 31A(3) of the Act.
 - (c) £11,443,421 being the amount by which the aggregate at (3)(a) above exceeds the aggregate at (3)(b) above, calculated by the council, in accordance with Section 31A(4) of the Act as its council tax requirement for the year. (Item R in the formula in Section 31B) of the Act).
 - (d) £217.20 being the amount at (3)(c) above (Item R), all divided by Item T (1(a) above), calculated by the council, in accordance with Section 31(B) of the Act, as the basic amount of its council tax for the year (including parish precepts).
 - (e) £4,241,717 being the aggregate amount of all special items referred to in Section 34(1) of the Act, as set out in column 2 of appendix 1.
 - (f) £136.69 being the amount at (3)(d) above less the result given by dividing the amount at (3)(e) above by Item T (1(a) above), calculated by the council, in accordance with Section 34(2) of the Act, as the basic amount of its council tax for the year for dwellings in those parts of its area to which no parish precept relates.
- 4. To note that for the year 2020/21 Oxfordshire County Council has stated the following amounts in precepts issued to the council, in accordance with Section 40 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992, for each of the categories of dwellings shown below:

Band A	£1,018.29
Band B	£1,188.01
Band C	£1,357.72
Band D	£1,527.44
Band E	£1,866.87
Band F	£2,206.30
Band G	£2,545.73
Band H	£3,054.88

5. To note that for the year 2020/21 the Police and Crime Commissioner for Thames Valley has stated the following amounts in precepts issued to the council, in accordance with Section 40 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992, for each of the categories of dwellings shown below:

Band A	£144.19
Band B	£168.22
Band C	£192.25
Band D	£216.28
Band E	£264.34
Band F	£312.40
Band G	£360.47
Band H	£432 56

- 6. That the council, in accordance with Sections 30 and 36 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992, hereby sets the aggregate amounts shown in appendix 3 as the amounts of council tax for 2020/21 for each part of its area and for each of the categories of dwellings shown in appendix 3.
- 7. To determine that the council's basic amount of council tax for 2020/21 is not excessive in accordance with principles approved under Section 52ZB Local Government Finance Act 1992.

Co.77 Items from Council meeting held on 12 February (if required)

All business included on the agenda for the meeting held on 12 February was completed.

Co.78 Report of the leader of the council

Councillor Emily Smith, Leader of the council, referred to the flooding situation in the district and the ongoing updates provided by the Environment Agency and communities under high risk. She stated that the council's website contained useful information to assist those likely to be impacted by flooding including links to relevant websites.

Co.79 Questions on notice

No questions were submitted by councillors under Council procedure rule 33.

Co.80 Motions on notice

No motions were submitted by councillors under Council procedure rule 38.

At the close of business Councillor Andrew Crawford, Cabinet member for finance, thanked William Jacobs, the outgoing head of finance and Section 151 officer, for his service to the council, wished him a fruitful retirement and presented him and his wife with gifts of appreciation. On behalf of Council, Councillor Crick, Chair of the council, reiterated her thanks and best wishes.

The meeting closed at 7.07pm